Posted in MORNING Prayers, QUOTES of the SAINTS, SAINT of the DAY

Quote/s of the Day – 17 March

Quote/s of the Day – 17 March

“I pray that those who believe in God and who read this confession, which I, Patrick, an unlearned sinner have written in Ireland, may recogniSe that whatever I achieved or taught that was pleasing to God, was done so by the gift of God.   This is my confession before I die.”

“The Lord had to humble me first through my captivity to get his attention.   Then in His mercy He came and raised me up and lifted me to the very top of a wall.   And from there I can only shout out in gratitude to the Lord for His great favours which He showed me without measure”

“Whether you be great or small, learned or simple, listen and consider how God summoned me, a fool and a wretch in this world, to serve Him with reverence, faith and humility.   It was the love of Christ that inspired me to give my life in service to this people.”

“I came to the Irish people to preach the Gospel and endure the taunts of unbelievers, putting up with reproaches about my earthly pilgrimage, suffering many persecutions, even bondage and losing my birthright of freedom for the benefit of others.   If I am worthy, I am ready also to give up my life, without hesitation and most willingly, for Christ’s name.  H I want to spend myself for that country, even in death, if the Lord should grant me this favour.   It is among that people that I want to wait for the promise made by Him, who assuredly never tells a lie. HHe makes this promise in the Gospel: “They shall come from the east and west and sit down with Abraham, Isaac and Jacob.”  H This is our faith: believers are to come from the whole world.”

“I do not seek honour from others because the Lord Himself is enough for me.   Although I am most unworthy, the Lord has exalted me beyond measure.   I prefer poverty and failure rather than a life of wealth and pleasure.   After all, Christ the Lord Himself was poor for our sakes.   I fear nothing, not even betrayal, slavery, or murder because of the promises of heaven.    I am in the Lord’s hands, as Scripture says: “Cast your burden on the Lord and he will sustain you.”

“Whatever befalls me, be it good or bad, I will accept it equally and give thanks always to God.    I will put my trust in him and dare to undertake so holy and so wonderful a work, so that I might imitate those who have gone before as heralds of the Gospel to all peoples, even to the ends of the earth.   This commission is being fulfilled even today, as we witness the Gospel being proclaimed in far away places such as this land.”

– from the Confession of Saint Patrick

THE LORD HAD TO HUMBLE ME FIRST-ST PATRICK

Author:

Passionate Catholic. Being Catholic is a way of life - a love affair both with God and Father, our Lord Jesus Christ, the Holy Spirit, our most Blessed and Beloved Virgin Mother Mary and the Church. "Religion must be like the air we breathe..."- St John Bosco Prayer is what the world needs combined with the example of our lives which testify to the Light of Christ. This site will mainly concentrate on Daily Prayers, Novenas and the Memorials and Feast Days of our friends in Heaven, the Saints who went before us and the great blessings the Church provides in our Catholic Monthly Devotions. This is a papal fidelity site. Loyal and Obedient to the Current Pope and to the Magisterium United With Him.

Leave a Reply

